Author’s Note for Cold Rains

Posted: November 30, 2015 in Uncategorized
Tags: , , , , , , , , , , ,

12248176_1073231469353843_7359315726901016386_o

Here’s the brief Author’s Note for Cold Rains (and don’t worry, while it comes, properly, at the end of the book, there are no real spoilers here). This book is coming down the pike, very soon.

AUTHOR’S NOTE

I enjoy writing books where I have no idea where the thing is going. That is to say, I’m not one of those writers who makes copious notes, outlines everything, flowcharts it all on a dry erase marker board, draws pictures of their characters and writes a detailed description of them and their history and all that stuff. For me, it’s all about the story.

I’m not sure where this particular story came from, except that I was wandering around the streets of Austin on a particularly rainy day (hell, it was a rainy week—the sky was perpetually slate gray, except when it was black, and the rain wasn’t stopping for anything. The creeks filled up, Town Lake slowly crept up its banks and got Stevie Ray Vaughn’s shoes wet, and people like me started thinking in terms of ark construction) and I found myself sort of…loving it all. Then I posed a serious question to myself: what kind of guy loves this type of weather? And thus, Jim Rains was born.

Missy Sossville is a composite of a number of young women I have known. No, not one of them fits her description exactly, although one or two have been thoroughly…bad. By which I mean, either they were convicted criminals or they hadn’t yet been caught when I knew them.

This book is a departure from much of the stuff I have written in the past. While there is mystery and there definitely is action throughout the text, I wanted to pen something a little more…real. What I was striving for (and I have every hope that I achieved it) was a nail-biter—one of those edge-of-the-seat, knot-in-the-stomach, character-driven series of compounded disasters to be visited upon a guy who thinks he’s ready for anything. I wanted, in a word, a true thriller. Cold Rains should fit that bill. And while there are some who may say that, yes indeed, this is essentially a slightly darker-than-average Bill Travis book, well, you may be right as…well, rain. But I couldn’t have done something like this to Bill and gotten away with it (unless it was a prequel or something, and to date, the Bill Travis prequels are pretty much planned out, if in no other place than between my ears). No, this is Jim Rains. He’s different. He lives for those slate gray wet days. He thrives on them.

I hope you enjoyed Cold Rains. This was one of those books I could “see” every step of the way along. I kept getting flashes of what was to come, and believe me, those flashes chilled me. (For instance, a certain face looking up from inside a refrigeration unit came fairly early on, and I knew what was going to happen. I didn’t know when, where in the narrative, or how, but I knew who it was, and essentially why. Another for instance, Jim and Missy kissing on horseback in the rain, right before all the bad stuff starts happening.)

Forgive me, but I see this book as a movie. Every scene, every movement is choreographed perfectly in my mind. While any given reader of all of my other books might be able to argue that it’s how I write everything—because, believe me, they regularly tell me they can see it all just like that while reading them—this one, Cold Rains, was a movie script without the essential formatting. That’s how it flowed. I couldn’t not have written it that way if I had wanted to. The author must must must bow to the story. He or she must act as no more than the channel through which it flows, and the ego has to be left outside in the rain, where it belongs. But, I guess that’s just my method.

Okay, that’s pretty much it.

I love you folks. Ya’ll take care.

George Wier
November 29, 2015
Austin, Texas

Leave a Reply

